March OCBS Membership Meeting
Thursday March 28, 2019
Captain Joe Beno
Steelhead Fly Fishing Tips and Techniques

Joe Beno grew up in northern Ohio fishing Lake Erie for walleye and perch. He is an avid outdoorsman and has been for a little over a decade. His drive for fishing led him to start exploring different species in high school. Fishing for anadromous fish, especially steelhead became his favorite species. He guides in Alaska during the summer months and in Ohio for steelhead during the winter. Chasing steelhead in Washington, Alaska, Michigan and Ohio has helped him grow as an angler and a guide. He is a passionate angler and enjoys helping others gain enjoyment for the sport he loves. This should be a great meeting. I hope to see you there.

          Rod Raffle:       G Loomis 9” 6” Classic Steelhead Spinning Rod GLX STR 1141S

Meeting             Firehouse Grille and Pub
Location:          2768 Stark Drive
                        Willoughby Hills, OH 44094
                        Phone: 440-943-4983

Time:               Meeting starts at 7:30 PM

March Board of Directors Election

If you have any questions regarding becoming a board member, please call Les Ober, our OCBS Secretary, at your earliest opportunity.We will hold our 2019 Board of Directors Election at our March Meeting. Any club member in good standing can be a board member. If you want to get involved in your club this year and help improve the Lake Erie steelhead fishery, consider serving on the board of directors. We presently have a few openings and encourage your participation.

OCBS officers serve 2 year terms . Their current terms run from March 2018 through March 2020 and are not on the March 2019 ballot.

President: Tom Blotzer
Vice President: Wael Dardir
Secretary: Les Ober
Treasurer: Matt Hainzey

Board of directors are elected each year for a one year term. The following members are nominated to serve on our board of directors for a one year terms that run from March 2019 to March 2020: 

  Paul Deunk           Jeff Liskay            Mike Durkalec   

  Joe Moravec,        John Beedlow Jr.   Scott Grossnickle   

  Jerry Darkes         Bob Hajek            Jim Dykes     

   John Smoggie        Chris Ebbeson

OCBS Steelhead Tournament
17 March 2019 Results

The 4th Leg of the OCBS “Members Only” Steelhead Tournament was held on Sunday 17 March 2019.  A bright sunny day with morning temperatures in the low twenties and  afternoon highs in the upper thirties.   The Legacy streams were just coming into shape and held good numbers of fresh fish which pushed in with the latest rain event.  Water temps were in the upper thirties and the bite was pretty hot, but the majority of fish landed were under 24 inches in length.

A total of 14 fish that measured 24 inches or greater in length were checked in. All in all a good day to be out with plenty of hookups.

Congratulations to Ken Harper who placed first with two fish measuring 26.50 and 26.00 inches.  Adam Hillman and John Smoggie Jr. placed 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Place Name Fish #1 Fish #2 TTL Length
1 Harper Ken 26.50 26.00 52.50
2 Hillman Adam 26.25 25.75 52.00
3 Smoggie John 26.00 24.00 50.00
4 Hartman John 25.25 24.00 49.25
5 Rhoades John 27.00 0.00 27.00
6 Cradock Dave 24.25 0.00 24.25
7 Warren Mark 24.25 0.00 24.25
8 Telep Justin 24.18 0.00 24.18
9 Bryda Chris 24.00 0.00 24.00
10 Gibson Joe 24.00 0.00 24.00
11 25 Members tied at: 0.00 0.00 0.00

The 5th and final Tournament Leg will be held Sunday 9 April 2019.  Be sure to mark your calendar and plan on fishing the April Leg.   

John Beedlow Jr

 Tournament Director